Blocking Twitter Trolls Harder

Blocking Twitter Users

Thought you blocked one of those Twitter trolls (or worse).

Not really. Read Twitter’s new policy closely:

Note: If your account is public, blocking a user does not prevent that user from following you, interacting with your Tweets, or receiving your updates in their timeline.”

You won’t see blocked users.

Their troll content, however, can still be seen.

And retweeted.

And searched.

Your choice?

Start over.

Go private.

Lock your account.

I know. Not much of a choice.

Twitter is now a public company.

The company wants your trolls (or worse) to remain public.

Update — Twitter “reverts” change:

Source: Twitter

“Earlier today, we made a change to the way the ‘block’ function of Twitter works. We have decided to revert the change after receiving feedback from many users – we never want to introduce features at the cost of users feeling less safe. Any blocks you had previously instituted are still in effect.”

“Revert”?

New level of corporate spin.

After Twitter creates a crisis.

Issues remain: balancing privacy, reputations, safety … and the wrath of the ticked off trolls you block.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: